Château Hermitage de Combas

History

The Hermitage : The history of this name is the erection of the present castle on the foundations of an ancient fortress of the Middle Ages. The stronghold of Combas seat of a priory in the XIVth century, belonged in the year 1694 at Charles de Montagut, Lord of Combas; was still de Montagut (Charles Alphonse de Montagut, 1704 and Catherine Levati of his widow, in 1742), until 11 June 1749. Date on which it was purchased by Jean-François Daydé. Sold to Antoine Roussel Hyacinthe, then he went into the family of Mr de Servian Barrès, 24 July 1813. There remained not long since Balme Etienne and Etienne Laure de Murviel buyers are on 2 March 1826.

Finally, on 22 December they sold to the Marquis de Thézan-Saint-Géniès. The Marquis de Thézan-Saint-Géniès and the Marquise, born to Bourdeille de Matha, made large-scale development projects in the field of Combas of 75 ha. Thanks to him we have the relationship of the restoration business : "We therefore use the existing walls extending from outside the farm buildings in order to reach the enclosure which served as solid frame construction news. The towers were reported, a large staircase and built the chapel. On the first floor, large rooms were scheduled to receive the tables, furniture, memories of family removed from the castles of Saint-GENIES and Corneilhan".

Château Hermitage de Combas

He also created the scenery for the new castle : "The Marquise de Saint-Géniès, talented and has a very enlightened, tracks and was crashing the French garden stretching to the north side, whose trees, today centenial, producing a beautiful decorative effect. A dam was established to stop the waters of the stream of Saint-Michel and Combas, her bed was extended in his party on the park, forming a sort of lake, the land used to undulating from some perspectives. "

It is thus an interesting example of early restoration of an ancient castle that has not completely satisfy the "Wine Generation" later. Indeed, the last marquis de Saint-Thézan-GENIES added a steeple and a tower recognizing nostalgically: "We had the space, also outside it was too often sacrificed to the interior," In fact, its forefathers knew that their interest remains to be furniture, portraits and archives Thézan-Saint-GENIES who made The Hermitage a memory about the history of our country since the Middle Ages.

Château Hermitage de Combas

The Saint-GENIES did the eighteenth century, a daughter, wife of a Baron de Maussac (lords of Corneilhan), Louis XV erected in 1750 in favor of the latter, the Marquis de Saint-GENIES including including the lands of this name and Corneilhan. The second went home with our valuable information we have seen the marriage, in 1896, with Mandeville, in general, his father then giving this area of 52ha estimated 200 000F. He died in 1943 after having instituted heir to his cousin, the duc de Lévis-Mirepoix, the French Academy. In 1963, he sold the Hermitage, now the area belongs to the family Alexandre Rech.

Château Hermitage de Combas


index © Charming Château 2011-2013 ^ top ^

Château Hermitage de Combas

Histoire

L’Hermitage : L’histoire de ce nom est celle de l’érection de l’actuel château sur les bases d’une ancienne forteresse du Moyen Age. Le fief de Combas, siège d’un prieuré au XIVe siècle, appartenait en l’an 1694 à Charles de Montagut, seigneur de Combas ; il est resté aux de Montagut (Charles Alphonse de Montagut, 1704 et Catherine de Levat sa veuve, en 1742), jusqu’au 11 juin 1749. Date à laquelle, il fût acheté par Jean-François Daydé. Vendu à Antoine Hyacinthe Roussel, il passa ensuite dans la famille de M. de Barrès Servian, le 24 juillet 1813. Il n’y resta pas longtemps puisque Etienne Balme et Etienne Laurès de Murviel en firent l'acquisition le 2 mars 1826.

Enfin, le 22 décembre ceux-ci vendirent au marquis de Thézan-Saint-Géniès. Le marquis de Thézan-Saint-Géniès et la marquise, née de Bourdeille de Matha, firent de grands projets d’aménagement, dans le domaine de Combas de 75 ha. Grâce à lui, nous avons la relation de la restauration entreprise: "On utilisa donc les murs déjà existants en reportant à l'extérieur les bâtiments d'exploitation de façon à dégager l'enceinte dont les solides assises servirent d'ossature à une construction nouvelle. Les tours furent relevées, un grand escalier édifié ainsi que la chapelle. Au premier étage, de grandes salles furent prévues à recevoir les tableaux, les meubles, les souvenirs de famille retirés des châteaux de Saint-Géniès et de Corneilhan".

Château Hermitage de Combas

Il a aussi évoqué le cadre créé pour le nouveau château : « La marquise de Saint-Géniès, douée d'un goût éclairé, traçait et faisait planter le jardin à la française qui s'étend devant la façade nord et dont les arbres, aujourd'hui centenaires, produisent un si bel effet ornemental. Un barrage fut établi pour arrêter les eaux du ruisseau de Saint-Michel et Combas, son lit fut élargi dans sa partie touchant le parc, formant une sorte de lac, les terres en provenant servirent au vallonnement de certaines perspectives. »

Il s'agit donc d'un exemple intéressant de restauration précoce d'un ancien château qui n'a pas satisfait complètement la « génération viticole » postérieure. En effet, le dernier marquis de Thézan-Saint-Géniès à jouté un clocheton et une tour en reconnaissant nostalgiquement : « Il fallait de l'espace, aussi l'extérieur fut-il trop souvent sacrifié aux aménagements intérieurs », En fait, ses aïeux savaient que l'intérêt majeur de leur demeure seraient les meubles, portraits et archives des Thézan-Saint-Géniès qui firent de L’Hermitage un lieu de mémoire quant à l'histoire de notre pays depuis le Moyen Age.

Château Hermitage de Combas

Les Saint-Géniès n'ayant, au XVIIIe siècle, qu'une fille, épouse d'un Baron de Maussac (des seigneurs de Corneilhan), Louis XV érigea en 1750, au profit de ce dernier, le marquisat de Saint-Géniès comprenant notamment les terres de ce nom et de Corneilhan. Cette seconde maison s'éteignit avec notre précieux informateur dont nous avons vu le mariage, en 1896, avec une Mandeville, dans la présentation générale, son père lui donnant alors ce domaine de 52ha évalué 200 000F. Il décéda en 1943 après avoir institué pour héritier son cousin, le duc de Lévis- Mirepoix, de l'Académie française. En 1963, ce dernier vendait L’Hermitage, aujourd’hui, le domaine appartient à la famille Alexandre Rech.

Château Hermitage de Combas


index © Charming Château 2011-2013 ^ top ^